As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. The price you pay does not change.
We have not used these home appliances. We compare what each Amazon.in listing says.
Prices and availability are accurate as of the date and time shown and can change. The price on Amazon.in at the time of purchase applies.
Quick verdict
Here's the short version. The Cablet 4 Socket Extension Board is the strongest all round pick, with a 4.5 rating, individual switches, a 10 amp rating and the highest surge figure any listing here states in joules. If protecting a computer or TV is the main goal, the Honeywell Surge Protector gives the most detailed surge specification of the six, though its warranty lines disagree. The Havells 4 Way is the one most buyers chose, with more than thirty three thousand ratings, while the Goldmedal i-Strip has the most sockets, the Portronics Power Plate 6 adds four USB ports, and the GM 3257 costs the least. Check the amp rating against what you plan to plug in before you choose.
Every extension board on Amazon.in promises surge protection, spike protection or both, and most of the listings look almost identical in photos. The numbers that separate them are harder to find: the current rating in amps, the total wattage, the surge rating in joules if the listing gives one, the cord length and the warranty.
This guide lines up six extension boards from Cablet, Honeywell, Havells, Goldmedal, Portronics and GM. We opened each Amazon.in product page and copied down the price, the rating, the number of ratings, the seller rank, the sockets, the amp and watt ratings, the surge rating where one is stated, the weight and the warranty. Several listings contradict themselves, and we flag each one rather than picking a number for you.
Only two of the six state a surge rating in joules. The rest describe surge or spike protection in words only, which is worth knowing if you're buying this to protect expensive electronics.
Our picks at a glance
Tap a name to open its Amazon.in listing in a new tab.
Prices shown as of 27 Sep 2026, 22:01 IST.
- Best overall
Cablet 4 Socket Extension Board
₹5994.5 out of 5 on Amazon.in (1,342 ratings)
A 4.5 rating, a 10 amp rating and the highest joule figure stated here.
- Best for electronics
₹1,2694.5 out of 5 on Amazon.in (1,888 ratings)
The most detailed surge specification in the group, at 525 joules and 6 kV.
- Most bought
₹4094.2 out of 5 on Amazon.in (33,525 ratings)
More than 33,000 ratings, far ahead of every other board here.
- Most sockets
₹7874.5 out of 5 on Amazon.in (12,605 ratings)
Six universal sockets and a 4.5 rating from over 12,000 buyers.
- Best with USB
₹6494.3 out of 5 on Amazon.in (5,877 ratings)
Five sockets plus four USB ports, and the top rank in Extension Cords.
- Best budget
₹3994.3 out of 5 on Amazon.in (1,646 ratings)
The lowest price here, with a 10 amp rating and child safety shutters.
Compare all
A bold figure is the best in its row. Swipe the table sideways on a phone, the first column stays in place.
Prices shown as of 27 Sep 2026, 22:01 IST.
| Compared on | Cablet 4 Socket Extension Board | Honeywell Surge Protector | Havells 4 Way Extension Board | Goldmedal i-Strip 6 Socket | Portronics Power Plate 6 | GM 3257 Extension Board |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | ₹599 | ₹1,269 | ₹409 | ₹787 | ₹649 | ₹399 |
| Rating | 4.5 out of 5 | 4.5 out of 5 | 4.2 out of 5 | 4.5 out of 5 | 4.3 out of 5 | 4.3 out of 5 |
| Ratings behind it | 1,342 | 1,888 | 33,525 | 12,605 | 5,877 | 1,646 |
| Sockets | 4 | 4 | 4 | 6 | 5 plus 4 USB | 4 |
| Amp rating | 10 A | Not clearly stated | 6 A | Not stated | Not stated for sockets | 10 A |
| Surge rating in joules | 1,500 J | 525 J | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Cord length | 1.8 m | 2 m | 1.5 m | 2 m | 2 m | 2 m |
| Warranty stated | 1 year | Listing disagrees | Not stated | 1 year | 1 year | 1 year |
| Amazon.in seller rank | #2 in Power Strips | Not shown | #5 in Extension Cords | #51 in Power Strips | #1 in Extension Cords | #7 in Power Strips |
How to choose
What will you plug into it?
Add up the watts of everything you plan to plug in at once and keep the total under the board's rating. The listings here make the maths easy: the Havells states 6 amps and 1,440 watts, which is 240 volts times 6 amps, while the Cablet states 10 amps and 2,500 watts. Phones, laptops, a TV and a router sit comfortably on either. Anything that heats, like an iron, a kettle or a room heater, draws far more and is better on a wall socket rated for it.
How much surge protection do you need?
Only two listings here state a surge rating in joules: the Cablet at 1,500 and the Honeywell at 525, with 15,000 amps and 6 kV. A joule figure tells you how much surge energy the board is rated to absorb. The other four describe surge or spike protection in words only. If you're protecting a computer or a smart TV, a stated rating is easier to trust than a line of marketing.
How many sockets and ports?
Count the plugs you need today and add one. The Goldmedal has six sockets, the Portronics Power Plate 6 has five plus four USB ports, and the rest have four. If you charge phones overnight, the Portronics saves you separate chargers, but its USB output is 2.1 amps shared across all four ports.
Individual switches or one master switch?
Individual switches let you turn off one device, like a set top box, without unplugging it. The Cablet has a switch for each socket. The Havells, Goldmedal and GM use a single master switch, which turns everything on or off at once. Pick based on how you use the board day to day.
Does cord length matter?
Measure the distance from your wall socket to where the board will sit. Most boards here have a 2 metre cord, the Cablet has 1.8 metres and the Havells has 1.5 metres. A cord that's too short tempts people to chain two boards together, which is worth avoiding.
1. Cablet 4 Socket Extension Board: best overall
₹599
4.5 out of 5 on Amazon.in (1,342 ratings)
₹599 (as of 27 Sep 2026, 22:01 IST)
The Cablet board ties for the highest rating in this group at 4.5, and it ranked second in Power Strips on the day we checked. Its listing states a 10 amp and 2,500 watt rating, and the details table gives a surge protection rating of 1,500 joules, the highest figure any of the six listings states.
Each of the four universal sockets has its own switch, so you can turn off one device without unplugging it. The listing describes a polypropylene body with a brass bar inside and a 1.8 metre copper cord, and claims the switches are rated for 10,000 on and off cycles. The warranty is one year, and the country of origin is India.
- Sockets: 4 universal, each with its own switch
- Rating: 10 A, 2,500 W
- Surge rating: 1,500 joules
- Cord: 1.8 m
- Weight: 460 g
- Warranty: 1 year
Good
- Highest joule rating stated in the group, at 1,500.
- 10 amp rating with individual switches.
- Rated 4.5, the joint highest here.
Watch out
- About 1,300 ratings, far fewer than the Havells.
- Cord is 1.8 m, slightly shorter than the 2 m boards.
2. Honeywell Surge Protector: best for electronics
₹1,269
4.5 out of 5 on Amazon.in (1,888 ratings)
₹1,269 (as of 27 Sep 2026, 22:01 IST)
If you're buying this to protect a computer, a TV or a router, the Honeywell listing gives you the most to go on. It states protection against surges and spikes of up to 6 kV, 525 joules and 15,000 amps, using metal oxide varistor technology. It lists seven safety features, including overload protection with a master reset switch, child lock shutters and fire resistant material.
It's the most expensive board here, and the listing showed no seller rank on the day we checked. It carries a 4.5 rating from close to 1,900 buyers. The listing states a BIS certified 2 metre cord and a weight of 0.4 kg. Its warranty lines disagree, so read the note below.
- Sockets: 4 universal, with child lock shutters
- Surge rating: 525 joules, 15,000 A, 6 kV max
- Protection: MOV, overload with master reset
- Cord: 2 m, BIS certified
- Weight: 0.4 kg
- Warranty: Listing disagrees, 1 or 3 years
Good
- Most detailed surge specification of the six.
- Rated 4.5, the joint highest here.
- Child lock shutters and overload reset.
Watch out
- Most expensive board in the group.
- No running current rating clearly stated.
Before you pay: The details table states a 3 year warranty, while a 1 year warranty badge also appears on the same page. It also lists 15,000 amps as the current, which is the surge figure from its bullet points, not a running rating. Confirm the warranty with the seller on the Honeywell listing before you order.
3. Havells 4 Way Extension Board: most bought
₹409
4.2 out of 5 on Amazon.in (33,525 ratings)
₹409 (as of 27 Sep 2026, 22:01 IST)
The Havells board has by far the most ratings in this comparison, at more than thirty three thousand, and it ranked fifth in Extension Cords on the day we checked. Its title calls it a 4 way board with surge and spike protection, for power needs up to 1,440 watts, with a 1.5 metre ISI certified copper wire.
The bullets describe a 240 volt, 6 amp board with a master switch and a glass fuse. That 6 amp rating is the lowest here, so it suits phones, laptops, lamps and a TV rather than anything that heats. The listing doesn't state a surge rating in joules, and we found no warranty period on the page.
- Sockets: 4, with master switch
- Rating: 6 A, up to 1,440 W
- Protection: Surge and spike, glass fuse
- Cord: 1.5 m
- Weight: 300 g
- Warranty: Not stated
Good
- Most ratings in the group, over 33,000.
- Low price for a known brand.
- ISI certified copper wire, as the title states.
Watch out
- Lowest amp rating here, at 6 A.
- Shortest cord, at 1.5 m.
- No joule rating stated.
Before you pay: The bullets describe a 240 volt board, but the details table lists the voltage as 10 volts. Go by the 6 amp and 1,440 watt figures, which agree with each other.
4. Goldmedal i-Strip 6 Socket: most sockets
₹787
4.5 out of 5 on Amazon.in (12,605 ratings)
₹787 (as of 27 Sep 2026, 22:01 IST)
If you need to plug in a lot at once, the Goldmedal i-Strip has six universal sockets, the most in this group. It shares the highest rating here, 4.5, and has the second largest number of ratings, at more than twelve thousand.
The listing describes surge protection against power spikes, a master switch with an indicator light and a 2 metre cable. It doesn't state an amp, watt or joule rating that we could find on the page, which makes it harder to compare on protection. The warranty badge shows one year, the country of origin is India and the stated weight is 490 grams.
- Sockets: 6 universal, with master switch
- Protection: Surge, as the listing states
- Cord: 2 m
- Weight: 490 g
- Warranty: 1 year
Good
- Six sockets, the most here.
- Rated 4.5 from over 12,000 buyers.
- 2 metre cable.
Watch out
- No amp, watt or joule rating stated.
- Priced above most boards here.
5. Portronics Power Plate 6: best with USB ports
₹649
4.3 out of 5 on Amazon.in (5,877 ratings)
₹649 (as of 27 Sep 2026, 22:01 IST)
The Power Plate 6 ranked first in Extension Cords on the day we checked, and it's the only board here with USB ports built in. The listing describes five power sockets and four USB ports sharing a 2.1 amp output, with a 2 metre cord and a 2,500 watt rating.
That USB output is shared across four ports, so it suits overnight charging of phones and earbuds rather than fast charging. The listing doesn't state a surge rating in joules. It states a one year warranty, a weight of 550 grams and India as the country of origin.
- Sockets: 5 power sockets
- USB: 4 ports, 2.1 A total
- Rating: 2,500 W
- Cord: 2 m
- Weight: 550 g
- Warranty: 1 year
Good
- Top seller rank in Extension Cords.
- Four built in USB ports.
- Five power sockets.
Watch out
- USB output is 2.1 A shared across four ports.
- Its listing calls it a power surge strip but describes no surge protection feature or rating.
6. GM 3257 Extension Board: best budget pick
₹399
4.3 out of 5 on Amazon.in (1,646 ratings)
₹399 (as of 27 Sep 2026, 22:01 IST)
The GM 3257 is the cheapest board in this comparison and still lists a 10 amp rating, matching the Cablet and well above the Havells. It ranked seventh in Power Strips on the day we checked, with a 4.3 rating from about 1,600 buyers.
The listing describes four universal sockets, a master switch, an LED indicator, child safety shutters and a 2 metre copper cord, plus surge and overload protection in words. It doesn't state a joule rating. The warranty is one year and the country of origin is India. Its details table has two figures that don't add up, noted below.
- Sockets: 4 universal, with master switch
- Rating: 10 A
- Protection: Surge and overload, as the listing states
- Cord: 2 m
- Warranty: 1 year
Good
- Lowest price of the six.
- 10 amp rating.
- Child safety shutters.
Watch out
- No joule rating stated.
- Details table figures look wrong.
Before you pay: The details table lists the item length as 2 centimetres and the weight as 30 grams, which don't match a board with a 2 metre cord. Go by the title and bullets on the GM listing, and check the board when it arrives.
How we compared
We opened each Amazon.in product page on 27 Sep 2026, 22:01 IST and copied down the price, the rating, the number of ratings, the seller rank, the sockets, the amp and watt ratings, any surge rating in joules, the cord length, the stated weight and the warranty. Where a listing said two different things about itself, we show both or flag it, rather than picking one for you.
We have not handled these boards ourselves, and this page doesn't claim otherwise. It compares what the listings, the ratings and the specifications say, side by side. Surge figures and cycle ratings above are the brands' own claims from their listings, not our measurements. Our other buying guides follow the same method.
Questions people ask
What is a good surge rating for an extension board?
A higher joule rating means the board is rated to absorb more surge energy. In this group, the Cablet states 1,500 joules and the Honeywell states 525 joules. The other four listings don't state a joule figure at all, so compare them on the ratings they do give.
Is a 6 amp extension board enough?
For phones, laptops, lamps, a TV and a router, usually yes. The Havells states 6 amps and 1,440 watts. For higher loads, a 10 amp board like the Cablet or GM states 2,500 watts on the Cablet. Keep heating appliances on a wall socket rated for them.
Can I charge my phone from the extension board's USB ports?
On the Portronics Power Plate 6, yes, but its four USB ports share 2.1 amps, so charging is slow. For fast charging, plug a proper charger into a socket instead. Our fast charger comparison covers six options.
Does an extension board protect against power cuts?
No. A surge protector guards against spikes, not outages. For backup during power cuts, you need an inverter or a UPS. Our inverter battery guide covers home backup options.
About ShopperLuxe Team
We read Amazon.in listings so that you do not have to open ten tabs before you buy.
We count ratings, cross check every specification line, and say plainly when we have not used a product ourselves.